Ireland – Irish Film Institute (Dublin)

Ireland - Irish Film Institute (Dublin) Irland - Irish Film Institute (Dublin)

The Irish Film Institute is Ireland’s national cultural institution for film. Founded in 1943 as the National Film Institute, it moved into its current location in Temple Bar in the heart of Dublin city centre in 1992. The core activities of the Irish Film Institute are exhibition, preservation and education, providing audiences of all ages and backgrounds the opportunity to learn about and critically engage with film.

The purpose-built space includes three state of the art cinemas, a restaurant, Film Shop and the IFI Irish Film Archive which is dedicated to preserving Ireland’s moving image heritage.

We provide access to an unrivalled range of titles both locally in our cinemas and around the country through our online streaming library IFI@Home, bringing new cinema experiences to audiences all over Ireland. Through a number of strands and initiatives, the IFI engages with a wide-ranging audience from the mainstream to the visual arts, classics, seasons and evening courses.

Our IFI Schools programme engages with young people at primary and secondary school level, introducing them to the world of cinema with a lively year-round series of screenings and events. We have launched a schools platform IFI@Schools in order to offer greater access to a range of cinema and film based learning. It’s an ideal way to introduce younger people to the diversity of cultural cinema and how it can support their learning, and to encourage in them a life-long passion for film.

The IFI Irish Film Archive contains climate-controlled vaults which houses its significant film collection, numbering some 30,000 cans of film, and an extensive photograph and stills archive. Films from the archive have recently been made available to view worldwide via our online platform,

The Irish Film Institute: The Home of Film in Ireland.

Find out more about IFI’s 2023 Ambassador here:

Emily Thomas in 2022

Eion O’Donnell in 2021

Mia Sherry in 2020

Stephen Porzio in 2019

David Deignan in 2018

Penny McGovern in 2017